The Two Faces of January film paired with Greek delights

Starring Viggo Mortensen, Kirsten Dunst & Oscar Isaac

Rating 5/10

CLICK HERE for the The Two Faces of January plot! 

Dinner:

Most of this film happens in the beautiful land of Greece, including a very fine scene featuring squid! So, if you’re game, that’s what we’re cooking for our savoury part of our meal. Get ready to drool because this is what’s on the menu tonight/today – Chargrilled Baby Calamari with Fried Saganaki from SBS Food.

Image: SBS Food

Image: SBS Food

 

Review:

Ok, I must admit, the viewing of this movie at my local cinema didn’t start out so crash hot. There was a man (and I’m not exaggerating here) SLURPING on a choc top for a good ten-fifteen minutes, grunting in between mouthfuls, chewing with his mouth OPEN! Now, I’m all about films with food but that was just gross.

Now on with the review. I really, honestly thought this movie would be awesome (sorry hubby). I’m a big fan of Mortensen and Dunst but this film was SO SO SO slow. Other reviews said it harked back to the good old days of caper adventure movies but it was not adventurous enough for me! And the caper part! Did I miss it? The acting was cool and the storyline shocking at times (thumbs up for the twist-factor) but it wasn’t enough.

There were many boring, so so slow sections where I spent more time wondering if I’d bought my new jacket across with me when we’d moved seats (because of the rude chewing, grunting man) or had I left it there? You know how it goes.

On the up side, I loved the landscape of Greece, the water, the handsome people but the story. Oh so slow (have I mentioned that yet?) But I guess if you want to see it, make sure you check it out on dvd with a really good glass of Ouzo and these amazing recipes. Here’s the preview…

The Two Faces of January trivia:

  • This movie is based on a book! It was a novel by Patricia Highsmith, written in 1964. I wonder what she would have thought of this movie?!
  • Locations included: Crete, Athens, Istanbul & some random studios in old London town.
  • Highsmith also wrote the book, The Talented Mr Ripley (sound familiar?) – now the pieces of the puzzle are all coming together. Weird, strange, long, slow movies. I sense a pattern.
  • Apparently she wasn’t a very happy or warm person in real life.

Dessert:

Ok, now let’s spit out the bitterness of disappointment and replace it with some real, authentic Greek sweetness. If you’ve seen the movie, you’ll remember Colette (Kirsten Dunst) chomping into a treat like this one. It’s Loukoumades (Greek Donuts with Honey and Walnuts) from My Greek Dish.

 

This movie is not Hitchcock! What’s your favourite ‘caper’ film?

 Hungry for more? Check out these film and food combos:

